Retro on the River  (844) 538-2505 
Read Reviews here: Trip Advisor Reviews - Homeaway Reviews     -     Live Calendar and Booking

Go to http://vrbo.com/557753 to see our availability, rates and to book your vacation.

See what other people have had to say! Again, these pets in the lounge chairs... they are not dogs, maybe not pets either, just family members.

 
Testimonials

 

It's' a blur, but a good blur!

Guest Alysia (Arlington, TX)
Date of stay 03/22/14
Review Submitted 04/27/14
.What a great place to kick back and forget about all your troubles. My buddies and I had a great time hanging out in the hot tub under the stars and catching up on old times. Our wives really enjoyed walking through town and shopping in the shops. I can't wait to come back and do it all over again!

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, families with young children, pet owners.

Great Cabin!!!!
Guest Scott (O'Donnell, TX)
Date of stay 03/17/14
Review Submitted 04/26/14
.Came in for spring break 2014 with my two young nephews who are 7 and 6. The kids loved the cabin and outdoor areas. great little cabin and so convenient to all the shops and eating establishments. Very much look forward to coming back in the very near future for an adult only getaway.

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, families with young children, pet owners.

 

Perfect location.
Guest Lexi
Date of stay 04/10/14
Review Submitted 04/14/14
.Cabin is exactly as described. GREAT location. We walked just about everywhere. Walking distance to the river. Our dog loved walking with us exploring nature. The yard is out in nature itself. Lovely to sit in the yard and listen to the river. We saw a woodpecker. Lots of wonderful restaurants. O' Malley's corned beef and cabbage is not to be missed, nor lunch at Village Buttery. Having a king mattress was a treat, as well as having a pet friendly place. Our little doggie gives it top reviews. And so do we. Thanks Reed.

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, pet owners.

 

 

Great Place To Stay in Ruidoso
Guest Melissa G. (Portales, NM)
Date of stay 03/20/14
Review Submitted 04/11/14
.We really enjoyed the cabin. I told my husband that this is where I would like to stay anytime we want to stay at a VRBO in Ruidoso. This has been the best place we have stayed at for dogs. The fenced in area was great, Charlie and Walter our dogs, loved being able explore a new area without being on a leash. The hot tub was great and we loved the gazebo. We loved the retro feel of the cabin and I would love to get a stove and refrigerator like the ones in the cabin. It was nice being so close to the shopping and dining and being able to go get a drink without worrying about driving home. We had a great time and we look forward to staying again.

Owner response: Glad you had a wonderful time Melissa. We will surely welcome you, your family and certainly Charlie and Walter back the future. If you have any pictures of the dogs on the property, I would love to post them. Yes, we also enjoy being able to just walk two or three blocks to enjoy the restaurants and bars without the worry of driving!

 

 

Romantic Minimoon
Guest chad c.
Date of stay 03/28/14
Review Submitted 04/07/14
.My wife and I came here for our mini-moon. We picked the perfect place to stay. We loved the feel of seclusion but actually being near the hustle and bustle of Riudoso. Our dog, Hoot, loved the wildlife. He the deer he came in contact with were very curious of each other from across the creek. We are continually saying how perfect our weekend was and that it wouldn't be the same if we stayed at a major hotel or anywhere else.

Recommended for: Romantic getaway, pet owners.

Owner response: I'm so glad that you and your bride and your dog Hoot enjoyed your stay. Yes the property is unique in that you are right in town - where the action is - yet you can sit on that back porch and enjoy the calming sound of the Rio Ruidoso as it babbles its way down toward the valley. I hope that you and your new family can have many years of happiness ? Wishing you all the best! -Reed

 

Great cabin, great location!
Guest Tavia
Date of stay 03/14/14
Review Submitted 03/22/14
.I brought my daughter and my parents here for a little getaway for my daughter's ninth birthday. We immediately fell in love with the cabin.
I absolutely adore the retro feel and look of the place, and the fact that I could bring my dog made our stay that much better! She is very much a family member.
I really love the close proximity to midtown, so we could walk everywhere. It was also very nice to walk out of the back door and go down to the river. So it was the best of both worlds.. Being close to the hustle and bustle, but also having the luxury of nature right out the back door! Beautiful cabin with all the anemities, wonderful location!
I will definitely be coming back, and very soon!

Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, families with young children, sightseeing, pet owners.

Owner response: Yes! It really is a special place. It's so fun for kids as well as the little four legged kids! It was great having you guys in our special little cabin. I look forward to seeing you again. - Reed

 

 

Super Family Vacation
Guest Sal (El Paso, TX)
Date of stay 09/18/13
Review Submitted 02/07/14
.If you have a chance to stay at Retro on the River Cabin ? GO FOR IT. My grandkids didn't want to come home they were having so much fun. They spent the day discovering the town and playing around the river in the backyard. The adults really enjoyed relaxing and soaking in the hot tub. We enjoyed going to the restaurants as well as cooking in. Everything you need is there -- including some things that you didn't even know you needed. Awesome place! Can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, pet owners.

 

Wonderful little cabin!
Guest Broadcast Bill (Lubbock, TX)
Date of stay 01/02/14
Review Submitted 02/07/14
.This cabin was perfect for our little family of 4. The living room furniture is quite comfortable! Perfect for a family to spread out on. The hot tub is great. The curtain makes it nice and private. The little deck down by the river is very relaxing on a warm day.
This cabin is in a great location one block off the main street of Sudderth. It?s nice and quiet out back, but super convenient to midtown. We drove to go skiing, but after that we just walked to the restaurant and then back home for a Hot Tub soak in the cold night air. Driving to Ski Apache was easy. We all get a little better at our skiing each time we go! The sweet deer that visit every day were nice, my kids loved feeding them. I give this cabin 5 stars because it is a nice clean cozy little cabin!

Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, sightseeing.

 

Fun place to stay!
Guest Fast Traveler (Houston, TX)
Date of stay 08/02/13
Review Submitted 02/06/14
.We have been coming to Ruidoso for years and have always stayed a mile or so away from Mid-Town. During my walks through midtown I had seen this cabin and thought ?How cool would it be to just stay right there!? So, I finally found out how to rent it and am glad that I did. We stayed here with our grandkids and they loved the location. The girls made a great adventure of going to the shops! The all really loved walking to Hall of Flame to grab a burger or to get an ice cream cone. That was indeed a special treat. They played in the river and overall just had a great time. We look forward to returning!

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, families with young children, sightseeing, pet owners.

 

Great place to stay for our first trip to Ruidoso
Guest Amy
Date of stay 07/19/12
Review Submitted 02/06/14
.My family loved saying at this cabin! Check-in staff was friendly and made it easy. The cabin was very clean, cozy and comfortable. The landing by the creek behind the property is a nice place to sit and read. We had plenty of towels and it was also nice to be able to do laundry. Being walking distance to the downtown strip was convenient. We would love to stay here again!